Church of South India

The Church of South India is the result of the union of Churches of varying traditions namely: Anglican, Methodist, Congregational, Presbyterian and reform. Discussions regarding Union was begun at a conference at Tranquebar in 1919 and it was inaugurated in 1947 after protracted negotiations among the Churches concerned.

On 27th September, 1947, the General Council of the Church of India, Pakistan, Burma and Cylon; the General Assembly of South India United Church, and South India provincial Church Synod of Methodist Church joint together to form a Church of South India as the largest United National Church in India. Later, Churh of Basil Mission and the Anglican Diocese of Navdyal joined.

Organized into 22 Diocese, the Church as a whole is governed by a Synod which elects a Moderator (presiding Bishop) every two years. Episcopacy is thus combined with Synodical government, and the Church explicitly recognizes that Episcopal, Presbyterian and Congregational elements are all necessary for the life of the Church.

The Scriptures are the ultimate standard of faith and practice. The historic Creeds are accepted as interpreting Biblical faith and Sacraments of Baptism and the Lord’s Supper are recognized as binding obligations.

The CSI affirms that the purpose of the Union is to fulfill the priestly prayer of Jesus Christ, the Lord of the Church that ‘All may be one and that the world may believe that You have sent me’.

The CSI affirms that the Church is the servant of God, to carry on the mission rooted in Christ, based on the Scriptures. The Church through her mission expresses solidarity with the broken communities to face a new hope to tackle challenges of life. The Cross continues to be the sign of hope for the witnessing Church , which strives towards unity, peace and reconciliation as a vibrant channel of God.

<CSI Contd ..>  <Back to Christian Denominations>